The Inner Lighthouse was built in 1872 on Nelson Head. In 1993 the Royal Volunteer Coastal Patrol radio base was opened.
Today the octagonal Light Room and Keeper's Cottage is a museum and gift shop. The Inner Lighthouse Tea Room (left) has breathtaking views over Port Stephens.
Looking east towards Tomaree National Park. From L to R: Tomaree Head, Stephens Peak and Quarry Hill.
Looking northeast over the Tea Room from the RVCP radio base. From L to R: Yacaaba (North) Head, Little Island, Boondelbah Island and Tomaree (South) Head.
[ Top of Page ]
explore • discover • travel